Guest Post~Simi!!

 Hey everyone! How are you all doing? Today, I’m very excited to be showing you all a guest post that wonderful Simi did for me! I hope that you enjoy it!

Hello everyone! I’m Simi from ‘What’s Simi reading?’ where I review books!
I live in England so Maddy asked me to write about some famous English sites! The capital of England (as you may well know) is London. I don’t live there but I’ve been there many times and there are lots of lovely places to see! Here are some of my favourites (I took some of the pictures on my iPod so I apologize if they’re bad quality):
Monument
Monument to the Great Fire of London:
The Great Fire of London (2nd-5th September 1666) was a terrible fire that began at a bakery on Pudding Lane and spread quickly across London. 13,200 houses, 87 parish churches and many other buildings were consumed in the fire. A monument that is 62 metres (202 ft) tall and is 62 metres (202 ft) from where the fire began was built in the 1670s. It is the tallest isolated stone column in the world.
Gherkin
The Gherkin:
This skyscraper is called the Gherkin because it literally looks like a gherkin! Its real name is actually 30 St Mary Axe. It stands at a height of 180 meters (591 ft) and has 41 storys. It was built in 2001 and completed in 2003.
Tower of London
Poppies
Tower of London and ceramic poppies:
The Tower of London was built in 1078, but was founded in 1066 by William the Conqueror when it was first named The White Tower. From July – November 2014, 888,246 ceramic poppies were laid outside the historical castle to commemorate all the soldiers from World War 1 who died. I took loads of pictures of these poppies because they were so beautiful. It is so important to remember all those soldiers who fought for England.
Thank you all so much for reading and I hope you have learned a lot about England!
Thank you so much for guest posting Simi! I hope that you’ll all check out her wonderful blog! You can see a guest post that I just did on her blog here! Have a wonderful week everyone!
4 thoughts on “Guest Post~Simi!!

Leave a Reply

